Home page   » GEOGRAPHY    » Natural resources   

Natural resources



Azerbaijan's largest mineral reserves are situated in the country's occupied territories. As is known, there are 155 types of various minerals on the occupied territories, including five gold deposits, six mercury deposits, 2 copper deposits, one lead and zinc deposit, 19 facing stone deposits, 10 saw stone deposits, four cement raw material deposits, 13 various types of construction stone, one deposit of raw materials for the production of soda, 21 deposits of pumice stone and volcanic ash, 10 clay deposits, 9 sand and gravel deposits, five deposits of construction sand, 9 gypsum and anhydrite deposits, one pearlite deposit, one obsidian deposit, three vermiculite deposits, 14 coloured and decorative stone deposits (agate, jasper, onyx, jade, pefritoid, etc.), 11 underground freshwater and 10 mineral water deposits, which are of great importance in the republic's economic potential.
In Shusha District, there is the Shusha facing stone deposit, the Kechaldag (Lisogor) clay deposit the Shusha underground freshwater deposit and the Shirlan and Turshsu mineral water deposits which have the same medicinal importance as the famous Yessentuki water.
In Khojali District, there are the Zarinbag and Agchay facing stone deposits, the Shusha limestone deposit, the Khojali clay deposit, the Khankandi (Asgaran group) sand and gravel and the Khankandi underground fresh water deposit.

In Khojavand District, there is an operating gabbro deposit, the Khojali limestone deposit and underground freshwater deposits.
In Agdam District, there are gold and copper at the Qizilbulaq deposit, lead at the Mehmana deposit, zinc and copper at the Damirli deposit, Janyataq-Gulyataq gold deposits, the Agdara, Shorbulaq-1 and Shorbulaq-2 saw stone deposis, as well as limestone and gypsum deposits.
The Agdara underground freshwater deposit had also been discovered in the area.
In Agdam District, the Shahbulaq limestone deposit suitable for the production of saw stone, the Chobandag limestone deposit suitable for the production of cement, the Boyahmadli clay deposit and Shorbulaq clay deposit , the Gulabli limestone deposit suitable for the production of facing stone, the Agdam clay deposit suitable for the production of bricks and two sand and gravel deposits (Khachinchay and Qarqarchay) remain on the Armenian-occupied territories.

Read: 6653